A Day in The Life

08Apr14

So I tweeted…

…and then I got some replies. It wasn’t a survey. It wasn’t particularly scientific. But I did think it cast an interesting light on the variety of science teaching. The joy of Twitter is that I was able to check permission (and Yes, I agree it’s a public medium but it also seemed polite) and invite longer comments by email. I’ve not had any of those, completely understandable as everyone’s busy with the end of term rush, but here we go anyway.

I suspect mine needs little explanation. Surely we’ve all used ‘martian landers’ to get kids thinking about forces and parachutes? Lots of great videos as starters and many briefing sheets, like this one from TeachEngineering. Before introducing momentum as a term I get kids to consider how unstoppable moving objects are, as they find that language much more accessible. And giving them the two contradictory facts that beta particles are electrons and there are no electrons in the nucleus is always fun.

 

I wonder how @90_maz changed the teaching of the EM spectrum to suit different classes?

That is indeed varied! I always find classifying an interesting topic to teach but find myself getting bogged down in (fascinating) detail about bats and dolphins if I’m not careful.

The joys of behaviour management… trying to pay attention to potential issues without them feeling they have to play up/down to your expectations.

I find this a really useful approach, but would be a lot easier if I had wifi access or a webcam of some kind. Preparing three paragraphs in advance and asking students to identify strengths and weaknesses, and which belongs to the teacher, is often worthwhile. If I was brave enough I’d record audio of me talking myself through the problem so they can hear/see me ‘thinking out loud‘.

Another varied day – sometimes I wish I was immune to yr8. I’ve never taught the EMPA but would be really interested in viewpoints. Of course, it won’t be long before it all changes again; you might have seen the letter from SCORE on practical assessment, but I’ve not tracked down anything published by OfQual yet.

A great example of how teachers do extra work – effectively unpaid overtime – which is effectively invisible to the wider world. We’re all familiar with working in the evenings, weekends and through holidays, but how many of us have also worked while off sick or on maternity leave?

A really interesting snapshot and I’d value any further detail, from the above or anyone else.

 

 

2 Responses to “A Day in The Life”

  1. 1 90maz

    I didn’t really need to change it too much, both small entry level classes with high ta support. (yes, both, I had one class twice). Of course, the students always steer the discussion in very different directions and it’s fun getting them back on track!

  2. A great selection Ian – I’ll send you more detail on mine (might even blog it) when I’m back from Belgium. First week of the holiday and I’m away with 40 Year 8s on a science trip.


Leave a Reply

