The Eighth E – Evernote

11Jun13

It’s that time of year again. Scheme of Work time. When we all pay for the sudden drop in teaching workload, now Years 11 and 13 have left, by updating and writing new schemes for future teaching. Sometimes the changes are small. Sometimes, often thanks to politicians who love to change things just for the hell of it, they’re huge. Either way, it’s a great chance to think again about what we’re trying to do in our lessons over the longer term.

For various reasons, as well as rewriting and updating some rather dusty schemes this year, I’m trying to be more organised about keeping my own copies. I’m moving towards a 5/7Es model (as explained by me here, @hrogerson here and NASA here). And I’m also converting the school Word templates into my own personalised Evernote variant. I thought it might be worth sharing.

Why 5/7Es?

I find this clear framework, with a huge variety of actual activities, really helps me to make sure kids are getting something useful out of the lessons. This is particularly true when adapting existing schemes, or fitting in with someone else’s ideas about ‘essential practicals’. (See @alomshaha‘s recent Guardian piece about using practical work effectively for a useful example of this problem.)

Start your planning with the last E – Evaluate. How will you know what/how students have learned? Begin the lesson by Engaging students and Eliciting current knowledge. Guide students in Exploring the main lesson concept, which you can then Explain before checking progress with Extension work – this might need further Elaboration.

Obviously there are other models of lesson planning, but I find this is not only useful for more detailed plans when required but also makes a great ‘looser’ structure for schemes of work. These need more freedom, but giving some ideas lets colleagues choose what suits them while still improving consistency. That’s the idea, anyway!

Why Evernote?

In short, this is a note-taking application which can automatically synchronize between desktop, browser and mobile versions. I’ve used it for a while and am finding it more and more useful as it becomes a dumping ground for pretty much everything I need to remember or refer back to. Until recently it’s been an external memory for my own brain, but I’m now starting to build in more structure. It’s helped that they’ve now added reminders, which takes the place of the EventNoted add-on I was using.

The easiest place to start is by choosing a few tags which will make it easy to find material. I started with work, books, recipes, next action, blog and inbox. You can link it with email your web browser (to ‘clip’ particular sections of pages) and even your RSS reader via services like IFTTT. This means anything I want to hold on to I can save to one virtual filing cabinet.

So now as I revamp our AS/A2 teaching, I’m producing one note for each section. I’m using one tag for each year group, although this may be added to with topic codes a the list grows. I’m moving towards a consistent structure of Specification, Outcomes, 5Es and Activities, with links, page references and attached files.

evernote screenshot

This last part is what makes Evernote so useful. You can attach worksheets, powerpoints, animations… pretty much everything you’ll need to teach the lesson.

You can also share what you’ve done with someone else, either by inviting a specific person or by creating a weblink. They can’t edit – for that you need the premium version – but they can see what you’ve been up to. This strikes me as a great way to share ideas between colleagues in a department. Here’s an example from AQA AS Physics.

Using Evernote this way would be an excellent substitute if you chose not to use the TESPro service (although of course without access to their privileged content). It also makes it easier to keep a ‘personal’ copy of school planning, so your tweaks won’t mess it up for colleagues.

Next?

I’m planning to produce outline plans in this way for each topic, as I teach; I’m currently working on an ISA sequence, for example. I want to experiment with producing templates using KustomNote so I can automate some of the planning layout. I also want to see about a ‘week to view’ layout, more like a traditional teacher planner, which would then link to the specific notes for each  lesson.

Of course, maybe you have better ideas or a smoother system – in which case I’d love to hear about it. Let me know what you think in the comments.

 

 

7 Responses to “The Eighth E – Evernote”

  1. 1 tstarkey1212

    I’m a sucker for technology that makes my working life easier (as I’m disgustingly lazy at times). I’ve never considered using Evernote in this way but after reading your post it seems that there’s a hell of a lot of scope for saving me some time and effort. Thanks for sharing.

    PS – I don’t suppose you’ve got any links for instructions / overview of Evernote. I could Google it, but like I said, I’m lazy.

    • 2 IanH

      The basics you’ll pick up in minutes, the real value comes from adapting how you use it to suit yourself. Their own blogs are good, and the Lifehacker site often has features on tips and tricks.

      • 3 tstarkey1212

        Thanks for that – really enjoy the blog by the way. Great stuff.

  2. Really do need to interview you on this – let me know when your planning templates are up and running.

    • 5 IanH

      Leon

      Some are already, but I do envisage this as being a work in progress – you never really finish tweaking lesson ideas or adding resources, do you? My yr12 and 13 teaching, for AS/A2 physics, are pretty much ready to use; GCSE P1 and P2 (core/additional for AQA) are the next priority. I hadn’t thought people would be particularly interested in seeing the whole thing, to be honest.

      • No I’m just interested in the general workflow as that is really interesting to me generically across the board. Any time during the holidays?

      • 7 IanH

        We’ve got bits and pieces on, especially August, but the last week of July is looking pretty clear. Email me.


Leave a Reply

