#rED2013 First thoughts

08Sep13

This is going to be a very quick post, end even when I’ve had a chance to process the day properly I’m sure it will be nowhere as analytical as my colleagues, some of whom also beat me to the keyboard. But it seems like a good idea to get this up on my site as soon as practical anyway.

What a great day.

If you made it, I probably didn’t speak to you – and I’m sorry. If you didn’t, then I’m afraid you missed a great day. But the videos will be up soon, loads of posts will no doubt be blogged and twitter won’t easily give up the #rED2013 hashtag. Which probably means we owe Taylor Swift fans an apology, but so it goes.

I shared my thoughts through the day, linking to the raw notes I was producing with Evernote. I tweeted the links as much as spotty WiFi and dying mobile batteries allowed. I’m linking the same notes – no added thoughts or reflection, no editing, no URLs – below. My plan is to post every day or so with tidied up, referenced and considered views on each of the sessions I was able to attend.

  1. Intro by Ben Goldacre
  2. Redesigning Schooling (two Toms)
  3. Dr Kevin Stannard: problems with ed research
  4. CUREE/Philippa Cordingley
  5. Chris Waugh – ed research from a class teacher POV
  6. Dr Jonathan Sharples
  7. Effect size debate
  8. Tom’s closing words

I had a great day, not only because of the excellent speakers (there were easily three times as many sessions I wanted to attend but couldn’t) but because of the audience. Even in passing it was great to meet fellow colleagues enthusiastic about developing our practice, and to put names to the avatars with whom I converse on twitter. Although I’m surprised I was the only person I saw who thought to put an avatar picture on my conference badge…

I have a few thoughts for the future and any possible ResearchED2014. These are not criticisms, just things I wondered about.

  • How about a ‘speed-dating’ exercise, or simply a large room where teachers and academics can show up to meet? Perhaps have individual whiteboards by each desk, and let us write what we’re looking for or what we have to offer. “KS3 English classes, want to investigate SOLO for text analysis” or whatever.
  • Host/start an electronic list where we can sign up with those same kinds of interests to find a mentor/partner.
  • FAQ board – list questions at the start of the day, tagged for teachers/researchers, and anyone who wants can give their answers/thoughts
  • Enough time for coffee! Admittedly I chose to forgo lunch in the interests of more sessions.
  • A poster session where we can share successful projects with colleagues.

Last of all, it was clear during the day that some really big questions were being considered. I’ve long thought that CPD often has very different levels of application. I think it might be worth flagging sessions according to their interest for:

  1. Classroom teachers wanting to investigate methods to use directly with students eg Bloom’s, seating plans, group work.
  2. Senior management, heads of department, learning authority advisors (while we still have them) who want to make sure policies and whole-school tactics are informed by the best possible evidence eg uniform, length of lesson/school day, sets/mixed ability.
  3. Professional associations, government decision-makers, curriculum developers who need to set national, large scale strategies which can support us all in a broad way.

So more posts will be arriving, sooner or later. In the meantime, sorry for any typos, haste or lack of clarity int he notes linked above. Comments are, of course, as welcome as ever.



One Response to “#rED2013 First thoughts”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

