What You Should Know About Memory4Teachers

06Feb11

This is a follow-up to my post in December about Memory4Teachers. Most of the important stuff will be repeated but feel free to check it out – for reasons that will become obvious, I’m making this a separate post rather than updating the old one.

Context

I signed up for a free memory stick over a year ago, like many other teachers (and possibly other people with a tenous link, or none at all, to teaching). It never arrived, but I did receive monthly emails advertising a range of special offers for all kinds of things from the company. I tried unsubscribing, tried emailing them, tried the contact form on their website. Nothing. In December, sparked by their most recent email – and the heartfelt desire to avoid a pile of marking as tall as my six-year-old – I wrote a blog post. I felt better but didn’t expect anyone to (a) read it or (b) do anything about it.

In January, with yet another unwanted email in my inbox, I did a little more. Having been frustrated with the lack of response from M4T I contacted one of the advertisers in the email and a ‘key partner’, The Royal Society of Chemistry to ask if they had the numbers I was after, and to say that I wasn’t sure what they knew about the other companies advertised alongside them in the monthly email. They replied saying they were more than a little surprised and would review their involvement.

So I contacted the rest of the key partners. More of this in a moment – because before I heard back from any of them, it turned out that by now the company wanted to speak to me too. Fancy that.

Contact

I was phoned at work by a representative. Now this was interesting as it became evident that he had read my twitter feed as well as the blog post. I’m guessing one of the key partners had contacted them to ask for clarification and included my details, which they had linked up with my workplace by using their database of teachers requesting a memory stick. I’m curious whether any of the people complaining on the online fora (quite a few posts on the TES, EduGeek here and here, MoneySavingExpert, and the History Teachers’ Discussion forum) have had a personal phone call. Maybe I’m special.

He wanted to ‘clear things up’. He assured me that the initiative was continuing and told me that around 250,000 memory sticks had been sent out (more on this figure later). He explained there were lots of testimonial letters on the website. This is true – if you consider 14 letters (edit 24th Feb: this was working but they now have removed the page from their site – shall try to track down a backup) , mostly acknowledging receipt of the memory sticks and dated Jan-March 2010, as a ‘lot’. He said that he wanted me to realise that if the key partners felt the scheme wasn’t effective, they could withdraw funding – and he quoted a figure of about £10 per memory stick. Now, I certainly appreciate that a free resource isn’t one to turn down. However, let’s put this in perspective. Memory4Teachers – a spin-off project, presumably profit-making, from an advertising agency – don’t want their advertisers getting scared off by bad press about a scheme that has promised them privileged access to teachers. This isn’t exactly a ‘public good’ case.

He did point out – and to be fair I totally agree with him on this – that people are much more likely to complain than praise. It is however interesting how few people on the electronic fora praise them, and of those that do some have been shown to be their employees posting under a false name (e.g. on Edugeek). I pointed out that I, like many others, hadn’t had a memory stick. He said they had been sent but there had been some problems with Royal Mail. (I checked, and the other teachers he named at my workplace hadn’t received the sticks either. Maybe the dog ate their homework.) He explained that of the original applications (over 2 million apparently) many didn’t seem to be teachers, so they had changed their procedure to require a work address and a teacher reference number. Again, this seems to me to be a completely fair point. Of course, as they clearly have our email addresses it would seem strange for this to delay thing.

Two points in the phone call were very interesting. He asked me to change the title of the blog post and to remove the image of one of their memory sticks in a ‘do not enter’ sign, as they didn’t feel that was reasonable. I said I’d look at the post in the light of what he’d told me. (I’ve since had a another email repeating the request, which I replied to very politely, saying the updated post would be up soon. I have tried very hard to be fair in both the title and the tone of this post.) He also asked if I produced resources for teachers, and mentioned that they were always looking for content that could be shared through the scheme.

Hmmm. Carrot and stick? No, that can’t possibly have been the impression that was intended.

Numbers

  • Over 2 million original applicants.
  • ‘Around’ 250,000 memory sticks sent out to date, apparently (costing £10 each to produce).
  • 750,000 is the number always mentioned in press releases and on their website.

£10 is a lot more than the cost price of a 4GB memory stick. Presumably the rest of the cost is because of the work M4T have been paid to do for their clients, the partners and key partners. Now, I’d love to know how many of those 250,000 have been ‘activated’ – a number which surely they know. They haven’t told me, although I have asked. They don’t say on their website when they plan to send out the next batch, although they have been available for collection at shows like BETT 2011. I’d love to know how many email addresses they send out the monthly ‘newsletter’ to. This would also give an idea of how many people are currently waiting for a memory stick – or have given up waiting and delete the emails as spam. I wonder how many people click through the links to the advertisers, thereby providing evidence of how effective the scheme is. I’d be very interested to know how much the partners pay to be included on the website, and if they pay extra to be included in the email. Presumably the partners each know how many ‘referrals’ they get via the scheme and are carefully considering whether the cost justifies the return of investment.

Expansion

It turns out that these days the family is much bigger and is called Memory4Media.

There are no numbers that I can find on the Memory4Students site, but to be fair, I can’t find any complaints in forums online saying they’re not arriving either. These memory sticks apparently include an MP3 player and are aimed at college and university students. A lot of the companies and groups mentioned are the same as seen on the Memory4Teachers website. I’d be very curious as to whether any students have signed up for one of these sticks, how long it took to arrive and if they get emails.

What’s even more interesting is that it seems two more ‘initiatives’ will be up and running ‘soon': Memory4Medical and Memory4Architects. Now, if I was cynical, I’d ask if it was a coincidence that access to professionals by email would be a very valuable thing to sell to companies. Note that they don’t sell the email addresses directly – in fact it specifies on the websites that email addresses are never passed on to third parties. If I understand the business model correctly ‘partners’ provide adverts which are then forwarded. I’m intrigued about how the funding for these two projects is working. I’m currently hoping to get hold of figures that Memory4Media (and the original company, Memory4Teachers) have supplied to Companies House. As a teacher, rather than a financial journalist or other professional, I’ve no idea how much information is publically available. It would be interesting to know how much of the profits from the first project, if any, are being used to start up the new ones. Anyone know an easy way to find out?

If I were an advertiser or prospective ‘partner’ looking at the two new projects, I’d want to know what lessons have been learned from the original one. I’d want to know how many memory sticks would be sent out each month, or year. I’d want to know how long medical staff, or architects (or solicitors, or whatever the next project is aimed at) would be waiting for a memory stick while receiving emails that seem so much like spam. I’d want to know what other companies would be advertised alongside my own, and whether that apparent association would be flattering. I would of course contact the key partners of the first scheme to see what they thought of their ‘return on investment’.

And if I was Memory4Media, I would be very careful before doing anything that could be interpreted as bullying.

Appendices

In the interests of transparency, I’ve included the text of the messages I sent to the key partners. As I wrote above, some have replied, but I don’t feel it is fair to them to state which ones or describe their responses. Like anyone else, of course, they are welcome to comment below.

Original message to RSC:

I presume you get a copy of the email M4T send out to the teachers who have signed up. It might be worth you knowing:

1 the memory sticks never seem to arrive – it seems like a scam to get teachers’ email addresses.

2 the range of advertisers is, well, interesting. I don’t think you put the RSC in very good company.

I posted about this on my blog last month and receiving the latest email from them – which I, like many teachers, consider to be spam – reminded me of your involvement in what is, frankly, more than a little poor.

Mass email sent to all key partners:

Greetings

I’ve been having trouble getting any response from Memory4Teachers about their ‘initiative’ to give away USB sticks loaded with software, applications and other teaching materials for UK teachers. You are listed as one of their ‘key partners’ on their website, although it isn’t clear when it was last updated. I was wondering if I could get the answers to a couple of quick questions. Apologies if this has arrived in the wrong inbox!

1 Are you still actively involved (or financially supporting) M4T? Please note I am not seeking details, just if you are still actually working with them and if relevant in what way.

2 Do you know how many memory sticks have been ‘given away’ to date?

Many thanks for your time.

12 Responses to “What You Should Know About Memory4Teachers”

  1. 1 Snydersensei

    Just started following you on Twitter! I am a math/science educator in Canada teaching 13 and 14 year old students. Hoping to share ideas and thoughts with you.

    • Thanks for commenting – and look forward to swapping some ideas. I spent an autumn in Canada nearly ten years ago now and it was beautiful – if a little chilly.

  2. Hi,
    We werw a prtner in the m4t scheme and believ it to be a total scam. If you want more details please telephone me on 07941727945.

    Regards,

    Phil

  3. 4 Ivor

    Hi, my Company is a user of these guys. Today they gave me some stats(today being 4th May 2012) Their plan is to get 700k sticks out in 5 years, 200k issued so far. I was complaining to them about the poor value for money they were. They can be contacted on 020 8951 0000

    • 5 IanH

      Thanks for the comment. They make a lot of claims and have a lot of claims, but it does seem that their delivery is weak. Are you signed up with their ‘teachers’ department? It’s interesting that the last time I looked they were ‘developing’ modes for healthcare and architecture – targeting professional users with a high value to advertisers.

      • 6 Ivor

        Hi Ian
        We were connected via their teachers program. We have now cancelled our subscription as we were unhappy with their business practices

  4. 7 Bertie

    “I’d be very interested to know how much the partners pay to be included on the website, and if they pay extra to be included in the email.”

    — £2,500 pa. (included is the SOLUS emails are 1 per quarter)

    “Presumably the partners each know how many ‘referrals’ they get via the scheme and are carefully considering whether the cost justifies the return of investment.”

    — Absolute rubbish, it doesn’t, under £1,000 in 2011

    Points of note, most of the partners will not be aware that the contract auto renews, this means you get tied in for another year (been caught).

    To reach all that was promised would mean you’d pay £10,000 for exposure to the 750,000 teachers or 1.3p each however since they have only reached 200k this is obviously 5p a unique impression over the course of the program if it never improves and if everyone sees your offer.

    In eCommerce you would only expect to convert about 1% of these (2000) into visitors (much like a magazine ad) of which a maximum of 3% would convert to a sale, multiply this by average order value and you have a rather loose maximum return on investment of £10,200, in reality it’s a tenth of that.

    In case there’s any eCommerce officianados kicking about here, I know these are very rough figures but I thought I’d throw some light on the calculations and costs.

  5. 8 WhistleBlower

    Lets just say the blog an comments are fair and not too far from the truth. All in all the company as a whole are a shabby operation.

    The main thing companies are paying for is the e-commerce activity and featuring within the emails (Bertie some interesting stats there). However, the package is sold including a presentation within the actual memory sticks inc. links to the potential investors website. The figure of 750,000 is probably still being said to company’s and annoyed teachers who haven’t received there sticks, but more importantly the figure of 200,000 sticks sent out is still being said and may now be at 250,000. But that is little movement in over a year and 7 months.

    Importantly, the figure of how many actual sticks have been activated is never disclosed, surely they must know it. My bet is, if they have been sent out a lot of memory sticks are now sitting in teaching drawers at home or at work and have not even been activated. But they will still be receiving emails every month!

  6. 9 LittleS

    Does anyone know if any partners managed to not pay due to poor performance and the unclear renewal clause in the contract? I am interested to talk to any partners really.

    The parent company RGS Europe have run the renewing contract “scam” before they used the name Infomat previously. RGS Europe are now in liquidation!

  7. 10 Paul Heelis

    hi
    I was one of the sponsor of the infomat campaign. They printed my company details on the mouse mat with the promise to send out (I forget how many buy many tens of thousands) to schools. We never got any business from that. When I enquired about the number sent out, they said it was on request, who would bother sending for a free mouse mat. Anyhow a £1000 quid down the drain. But worse. I had not noticed the renewal clause. so we were hit for another £1000 quid. We paid in the end. Cannot say in public what I think of them.

  8. I signed up with memory4teachers as a partner, I can’t get a response to my emails requesting they update my presentation, and they never pick up the phone, so it’s not just teachers wanting free memory sticks who are getting a raw deal.


  1. 1 memory4teachers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

